More Frequent Updates?

I guess monthly qualifies as frequently in some people’s minds…but not in mine. I’ve been bad blogger, for sure. Worse yet, I’ve been a bad blog reader. How bad? I’ve even fallen behind on my own wife’s blog…and she’s not exactly been a daily blogger either. And if you’re not related to me, well, I’ve probably completely neglected you for about 3 months. Rob and Monica, I’ve been a bad blog friend.

Anyway, I’m not here to say things are going to change…I can’t promise I’m going to be a better blogger, because the next month should be pretty nuts. What I am going to try to do is get back to what I wanted to do in the beginning of this blog…less huge posts, more update-y types of things.

So, to that end, here’s the latest update:

Last night, we threw a surprise party for my dad, to commemorate his retirement. He worked for the same company for 36 years, an almost-unheard of thing in these times. The surprise was a success: I watched the video today, and if he was faking it he did a great job. The party which my wife put together, was a blast, and in all it was one of the best nights I’ve had in a while.

My brother has been home for about 1 1/2 weeks, and he leaves tomorrow to fly back to Dublin. It’s always good to have him home, and this afternoon my daughter said that when Uncle Matt gets on the big airplane tomorrow, “I’ll be sad, and I’m going to miss him very much.” Matt spent some good time with Emily this week, and she really has taken to him. It’s all good.

Work on the family room renovation is moving at a snails pace, but it’s moving. Overhead lights are installed, and will be connected to the switches this week. Next up are some new wall outlets, and then it’s time to put up the new drywall. My plan is that in 2 weeks, I can put down the floor. We’ll see how that goes.

Not much else of interest yet, but the week is young.

Leave a Reply

