Guys and Their Tools

No, not those.

You may not know this, but I’m a Mac user. Not one of those trendy iPod owners; a Mac user. I’ve owned at least one Macintosh since 1992, and an Apple computer of some sort since 1983. There are currently three Macs in my house – two operable laptops, and one older desktop destined to become a storage server when I have time and money.

I mention this because I’m writing today’s post with a blogging tool for the Mac called MarsEdit. I’m a big fan of tools. I have tools for working around the house, and tools for working outside the house. I’m a believer in the axiom “the right tool for the right job.”

So it goes with computers and the Internet. I’m always on the lookout for the right tools. I use Flickr for my photos, del.icio.us for my bookmarks, and WordPress for this blog. In each case, I tried other tools (Blogger, PhotoBucket, the Yahoo toolbar) before settling on these.

To me, Apple has made the best computing tool on the market for the past decade, since the debut of the iMac and the “renaissance” of Apple. My PowerBook 12″ is my constant companion – I bring it to work, on vacation, pretty much anywhere I need access to my stuff or my electronic tools.

One of the best parts of being a Mac user is that there is real community among other users. Maybe it’s because our software isn’t sold at Target, or maybe it’s because there are so many niche uses for a Mac. Whatever the reason, finding new software tools for the Mac is half the fun of owning the machine. And there are great websites – TUAW, Macintouch, and MacWorld to name a few – that keep me up to date on the latest hardware, software, and Apple-related business news.

One of these sites, Daring Fireball, is among my daily reads. And it was by joining that site that I was entered into the contest that won me a free license for MarsEdit and the rest of the Red Sweater Software product suite.

So, like a symbiotic relationship, I contributed to the Mac community, and the Mac community has given back. So far, so good on the tool: it’s HTML-centric, easy to use, and I was up and blogging in about 2 minutes after downloading. No lie.

Anyway, requisite switcher pep talk: If you’re in the market for a new PC, look at a Mac. Seriously. It’ll change your outlook on technology. Remember: the right tool for the right job.

Leave a Reply

